Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The author of the article here claims that the time devoted to weather and local news in the late night show of tv channel needs to be restored to former level so that the news channel will not loose any revenue further and also it will attract more viewers. To bolster his claims author has put forward some of the evidences here. One of them is that local bussiness that used to advertise earlier in their channel are advertising no more after reduction in time alloted for weather and local news. Second one of them is the tv channel received more complaints from viewers at the same time. However, in the evidences provided by author there are several flaws, assumptions, illogical rationale he put forward to support the argument. To support the argument the author needs go through the below discussions.

Firstly, the local bussiness that used to advertised during their late night news program might have stopped adversting because of reasons other than decrease in total time allocation time for weather and local news. For instance, let us say that there is an ABC company who was earlier advertising in the late night news program. Now this company might have stopped advertising for many other reasons. It is possible the executives the ABC company planned to cut on the marketing spend and as a result they might have stopped adversting. It is also possible this ABC company might have found a news channel which can adverstise at the cheap rate than the current news program. Thus if author doesn't provide proper reasons for which these companies stopped advertising, would dramatically weaken the argument.

Secondly, there is no mention of type of complaint from these viewers, that is whether they were requesting for the further decrease of time allocated to weather and local news or it was about increasing total alloted time to these coverages. It is possible that the most of the complaints are about further decreasing the time alloted to local and weather news which contradicts with author view of readjusting time alloted to local and weather news to older time will attract more viewers.

Thirdly, the author here states that the most of the complaints received during this period were regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news. However, author doesn't provide any information on what were the total number of complaints that station used to get before this move. It is possible that the station used to receive even more complaints very same show earlier this move of readjusting time for local and weather news made.

Finally, there is no guarantee that the readjusting the time alloted to local and weather news to older alloted times will increase overall viewership. It is possible that the viewers who were earlier watching this channel lost interest because of some dynamic programs whose concept changes from day to day. As a result they got habituated to other late night shows which are funny and entertaining enough. Thus author also needs to provide some credible evidence here to support his view of readjusting time alloted to local and weather news will increase viewership and stops further loss in revenues.

In a final summary, the argument is weak and unconvincing. The assumptions here needs to be supported with some strong research based evidence to validate the author recommendation on changing the time alloted to local and weather news. However, the report fails to provide strong research based evidence to support the claims and as a result the, the outcome of the suggestion that time alloted to local and weather news should be readjusted older time is dubious and the authenticity of the overall argument falls flat as of now.