It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves

Social groups can be formed at many places like offices, sports clubs, our residential areas etc. Majority of ones time will be spent with their social groups. Hence social groups play a very important role in once thriving. The prompt here recommends that it is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves. I partially agree with this for below two reasons.

Firstly, social groups can define you when your interests mostly align with that social group. As we spend majority of our time with the social groups and since our interests align with this social group, we learn a lot of things from this group. For instance, let us take a case of child who is interested in playing baseball. If the child is within the social group who are fond of playing and watching baseball, he will mostly be encouraged to play baseball. Since social group is full of baseball players, he may learn things quickly and also people in the group would point out at the mistakes, which will help him immensly. And also since this child interests align with the basketball player group, it may define him as basket ball player. This illustrates that if a persons interests align with social group it may interest

Secondly, However social groups may not define us when our interests doesn't align with that social group. For instance, let us a take an example of school kid whose friends are usually mischievious in some ways. However, this doesn't implicate that this kid is mischevious as well. One more instance for this is, let us take an example of apartment where many of the singers live. If someone chooses live in the same apartment because of good facilities in that area and proximity to hospitals etc doesn't mean that he is interested in singing. This illustrates that the social group we choose may not always define us.

To conclude, our social groups may not always define ourselvses. Whatever may be social group we are in, we have power to choose and do anything. If your interests align with the social group you chose then it will define you and if interest doesn't align with social group it may not define you.