The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author here claims that discontinuing the use of Endure manufacturing process will increase Dura-Sock profits. To bolster his claims author has put forward some of the evidences. First one of them is, despite advertising the endure process a lot the Dura sock customers are buying new socks every three months. Second one is customers like Dura-Sock stylish appearance and color which are not the charecterstics of endure process. However, in the evidences put forward by author there are several flaws, assumptions he put forward to support the argument. To support the argument the author has to go through the discussion below.

First, the author claims that despite advertising the endure process the customers are buying new socks every three months. However, it is quite possible that the company is currently operating in the locations where people can afford to change socks every three months. For instance, if they advertise in the different location where people give more importance to the durability of the socks they profits may skyrocket as they will enter the new market.

Secondly, there is no mention about the advertising channel that the company is currently using. It is possible that the company is not adverstising in the proper channels because of which the endure manufacturing process didn't reach people. If they start to advertise in proper channels they may start to gain even more customers because of the socks endurance.

Third, the author didn't mention anything about the number of people involved in survey. It is possible that even though they surveyed in their largest market they have surveyed only few people. For instance, if the survey had included only fifty people it is quite possible that the company get a biased opinion. It is quite possible that these fifty people often like replacing socks every three monts. But it may not be true for all other customers. Hence, the author needs to provide some more evidences to support the survery details.

In conclusion, the argument is weak and unconvincing. The assumptions here need to supported with strong evidences to support the claim that discontinuing endure manufacturing process will increase company profits. Since, the author didn't provide proper evidence the outcome of the suggestion is dubious and as of now the authenticity of the whole argument falls flat.