The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Leadership skills are one of the most important skills that an individual can possess. These leader skills should be meticulously nurtured in the children as they are the future of the nation. The author here asserts that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. I partially agree with the author. In order to develop effective leadership it should be mix of both competition and cooperation. Below are the reasons that I would put down to support my stand.

Firstly, cooperation is most important thing for proper functioning of anything. So cooperation is one key thing that should be instilled into young people. A government, industry or in other fields without the cooperation between leader and employess nothing would run smoothly. For instance, let us take an example of new person who has been appointed as CEO(Chief Executive Officer) in a xyz company.

Since he is new to the company it is important for this CEO to discuss with all the employess about the existing problems and existing products that are produced by company. To become cognizant of all the existing problem the CEO should carefully cooperate with employees by giving them enough freedom and assurance that their problems will be solved. Thus going further it is important for the same CEO to cooperate all other executives while taking important decisions. If the CEO is not willing to cooperate while taking decisions it may effect the whole company. Thus it is very important for any leader to cooperate with all other people

Secondly, competition is also very important for the leader. The competition keeps the people motivated and it always pushes the people to go for an extra mile. Without competition many leaders may perform at their min level. For instance, let us an example two leaders who are competing for a particular seat in next elections. Both of them should have competitive spirit so that they go that extra mile and proactively know the problems of people whom they are going to rule. If they don't have any competitive spirit they may not know work proactively to get elected and utlimately may fall short of leader position in the election. Thus competitive spirit is an important quality that a leader should possess.

Some may argue that, competition may motivate leaders to do some mal practices to win the elections. However, if they are comprising their integrity even before getting elected as leader they would eventually get exposed and they may never be able to become leaders again.

Some others may also argue that too much cooperation may lead to disagreement and eventually no final decision will be made about any given situation. It may be true that excessive cooperation would lead to contention. But disadvantages of the over cooperation are far less than the cooperation. For instance, in an industry any decision taken without cooperation may lead to disagreement and eventually company incur huge losses because of employees strike.

In conclusion, it is very important that, for a society to instill both sense of cooperation and competition in young peopel for them to become an effective leader.