“Laboratory studies show that Saluda Natural Spring Water contains several of the minerals necessary for good health and that it is completely free of bacteria. Residents of Saluda, the small town where the water is bottled, are hospitalized less frequently than the national average. Even though Saluda Natural Spring Water may seem expensive, drinking it instead of tap water is a wise investment in good health.”

The author states that Drinking the Saluda Natural Spring Water is a wise investment for good health, though it seems expensive. The author supports his argument by stating that the water contains minerals necessary for good health and the residents of Saluda are less frequently hospitalized than the national average. However, the argument is falwed in a way that it fails to consider below aspects into the reasoning.

Firstly, just beacause there are several minerals in the water that are need for good health, doesn't mean they are in right proportions to promote good health of the consumers. For Example, Sodium is a required mineral to maintain balance in the nerous system, but excess of sodium can cause hypertension. The author must take into account the proportion of minerals present in the water to declare that the water promotes good health.

Secondly, hospitalization can occur for many reasons other than dietery reasons such as accidents, regular health checkups, pollution, metarnity etc., the author needs to look at the specific type of hospitalization intead of a generic average. For Example, If the hospitalization due to accidents in Saluda is much less than national average, then we may not attribute it to the overall less average to the water.

Finally, the author did not consider the quality of tap water. If the tap water already has all the minerals and free of bacteria, then it may not be a good investment to buy expensive bottled water. The author needs to comparision between the mineral value and the cleaniliness of the tap water before jumping to the conclusion that the bottled water is a better investment than the tap water.

In conlusion, the author needs to make sure that the minerals are in righ proportions; He has to research on the details to prove that the good health of Saluda resdents can be attributed to the drinking water; And he needs to draw a sensible comparision between tap water and the bottled water to make is argument sound and credbile.