The following appeared in an article in a health–and–fitness magazine: “Laboratory studies show that Saluda Natural Spring Water contains several of the minerals necessary for good health and that it is completely free of bacteria. Residents of Saluda, the small town where the water is bottled, are hospitalized less frequently than the national average. Even though Saluda Natural Spring Water may seem expensive, drinking it instead of tap water is a wise investment in good health.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The argument claims that Saluda Natural Spring Water is an essential investment in good health because, according laboratory studies, it contains necessary for health minerals had no bacteria and residents of the small town Saluda, where the water is sold, are not so frequently hospitalized as the national average. This conclusion, based solely on two pieces of evidence, is doubtful as it does not provide any clear information. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that there were only laboratory studies, but there is no information about the research of this water in real conditions. As most people know, it is often differences between tests in laboratories and outside them due to the fact that it is impossible to consider all factors. In addition, the argument mentions containing several of the minerals necessary for good health, but it is also not stated what are they. What minerals are essential for good health? There is no objective criteria.

Secondly, the argument makes an assumption that resident of small time have a good health due to the fact that in their habitat Saluda Natural Spring Water is bottled. The author fails to mention that there a lot of other factors which can influence people's health such as a lifestyle and food preferences. Also the less frequenters of hospitalization may be connected with the average age of residents in Saluda.

Thirdly, the argument could have been much clearer if it provided the information on any national research which could be found in trust scientist's magazines as all real and essential studies scientist like to publish in such magazines.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. To strengthen the argument the author would have to provide more evidence. Supporting examples would further substantiate the author's view. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.