Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The business manager of the news company states that over the past year, the news program has progressively developed a lot amount of time to the national news and less time to weather and local news. He also states that the viewers complained about the coverage of weather and local news. Additionally, local business has cancelled their contracts with the channel. So to avoid further loss to the company, he suggests restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. This argument has so many flaws.

Firstly, the business manager assumes that by restoring the time of weather and local news to its former level, the viewership will increase. There is no proof to support it. What if people prefer using their smartphones or other forms to obtain the weather news? Even if we assume, that people prefer news channels for weather and local reports, if the quality or the representation of the news is bad, people may watch different news channels. In this scenario, increasing the time devoted to weather and local news would not help the station with increased viewership.

Even if we neglect, the above point, the author mentions no relation between the business that used to advertise during the late-night news program and the kind of news the station showed at that time. It is possible that the local news was cancelled for entirely different reasons. Maybe the companies that used to advertise their businesses went bankrupt. Another explanation can be, there was no growth in sales of their product and the companies couldn't bare the further loss. In this case restoring, local and weather news to its former level will not attract that businesses to start advertising again.

Moreover, if the local businesses return to the channel, there is no proof it will affect the economy of the station. There is no guarantee that the news station would not lose money. Maybe news station hired new journalists and reporters compared to last year.

Maybe, they bought new pieces of equipment to improve the quality of their setup. Therefore, ensuring that returning of local businesses would solve the issue of avoiding loss requires more proof.

In the mention of the above flaws and their rejection, the author's argument is weak. To prove that bringing local news and weather news at their former level will solve everything, author needs to provide proofs and evidence to bolster his hypothesis.

As there are absense of proofs, the argument remains weak.