A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

The issue here suggests that all students should have a single curriculum until they enter college. There are varied curriculums present in countries like India which have their own state of working and are not under the direct control of the government. I strongly agree, only one curriculum should be followed throughout the country. I can bolster this statement by providing various reasons.

The primary reason can be that all students have an equal stage to perform. What happens with varied curriculums is that no proper metric can measure the grades provided by different curriculums. All curriculums are designed in different ways. For example, a certain curriculum may judge students on their critical thinking skills whereas another curriculum is designed in such a way that it judges students’ memory retention. Both play an integral role in developing students’ knowledge. However, due to varied curriculums, students face problems while encountering national-level competitive exams which has a standard level. So if a national curriculum which is regulated at the central level is present, it can amalgamate all the best qualities of each curriculum and design a structured syllabus which takes a holistic approach in developing students’ minds for the future.

The secondary reason is closely related to the above one. Parents need to ruminate over what curriculum is better for their children. As students in the primary level don't have a profound understanding of their curriculum, this decision is taken by parents. Parents have a proclivity towards competition. So they blindly choose a curriculum which is attractive and promises quixotic things. If a standard curriculum is present at the central level, it can clear this confusion. Besides, it can be structured in such a way that works on the development of basic concepts in a better manner.

Thirdly, these varied curriculums are not directly associated with the government. Though the government provides certain guidelines, which are followed by these curriculums, as they have a competitive edge over each other, they try to bend the rules for personal gain. If there is a national curriculum at the basic level, it can be monitored properly. If certain things are not working for students, immediate changes can be applied for future batches, which can be tedious if there are different curricula.

However, one may argue that different curriculum decreases the load of government. But the involvement of government should be maximum in the field of education. As these students are the future of the nation. If their bases are strong, they can be turned into an erudite and responsible citizen of the country. Thus, I believe students should have the same national curriculum until they enter college.