“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The artical said that in order to attract more viewers and to avoid losing more further advertising revenues , the manager of television station decides to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The memo states that most of the complaints received from the viewers were concerned about the coverage of weather and local news. However, the author should provide us the more specific about the compaints from the viewers. For example, if the viwers compaints is about they don't like the late night news program, but they also don't like the weather and local news, so they want some new programs, such as the international news or some interview of the pop star. Restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level might not attract the viewers.

Moreover, the author should give us more accurate data of the past year. If the past year is one year, then the complaints of the viewers are not that conceiving. Because their might be a small percent of viewers don't like the national news, but lots of viewers like the national news. They need to wait for a longer time to appeal the viewers. Some viewers might not aware that the television station increase the international news, because they have the recongnize that this television station provide more weather and local news. After the time pass by, most of the viewers might notice that the station incresed the time of the international news which is more appeal to them.

The memo states that the local business which advertise during the late-night news program canceled their advertising contract. However, the manager should provide us the total number of the advertising income. For example, if the income of the local business advertising is only 1000 dollars, compared with other company's advertising imcome is 10000000 dollars. The local business advertising revenues are not that enormous and important, so having canceled of the local business contrat is not serious at all.

The author should provide the evidences above to strength the claim.