"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The business manager of the television station asserts that the time for the local news as well as the weather news has to be increased during the late night news program. He makes an assumption that this decreased time intenval for these two types of news resulted in the loss of local advertisement revenues. But, the manager might hold water as his conclusion relies on some of the unfounded assumptions. If they are not substantiated in a viable manner, they might dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the conclusion.

Firstly, the manager states about the complaints received from viewers. He states that the viewers are in need of local and weather news. But, he fails to think that if the national news time is affected, then the current viewers of the national news may get uncomfortable or unsatisfied. This may lead to further loss of the Television station. He fails to mentions how many number of people asserted to this change and also fails to accord that there may be more complaints in the future if there is increase in time for the weather or local news.

Nevertheless, the author fails to mention the relationship between the local news and the advertisements. The advertisements are made by the companies where the density of eyes of people is maximum. Having neglecting the national news people fail to acknowledge the advertisements by changing the stations. Even though this seems persuasive, the business manager fails to consider the aspect that the local business can give their ads during the day times too by shifting their timings. If the Television station is the national level station -which is again not mentioned-, the there is an inadvertent need for it to concentrate more on the national issues rather than more concentration on the local issues. Thus, if the assertion of the manager if followed, may incur the loss to the station in turn.

The Business manager also fails to mention that if the viewers who complained are really the viewers of the late night news. Even though if he wants to go along with their concerns, he still fails to think that the news time can be augmented rather than cutting short. If the late night news is so important aspect of the television station, then the business manager might have asserted to augment the show time by increasing the local and weather news rather than cutting off the national news.

In a nutshell, if few unfounded assumptions made by the business manager of the Television station are substantiated clearly, then the conclusion might have got ossified by diverge ground works. Therefore, if the substantiations given in the previous paragraphs are considered the business manager may come to the second conclusion regarding the time interval given for the local and weather news in the late night show.