The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meal

In this given prompt, the parent of a student studying in Kensington Academy wants the new private vendors- Swift Nutrition- to be replaced by another vendor. The parent asserts this statement because he/she thinks that the low-fat and low-calorie meal served by the current vendor is not tasty. Though this argument of the parent seems viable, he/she might hold water as the argument that the parent made lies over some unfounded assumptions. If such assumptions are not substantiated clearly, then they may dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the conclusion made.

Firstly, the main motive of this letter according to this passage is to complain against the vendors at cafeteria. But, the parent fails to analyze why the old vendors were replaced. The problem might be a financial aspect or may be the case that the children's health have been deteriorated during the tenure of the former vendor. The Kennington Academy could never have come to the conclusion to replace the old vendor without analyzing the issue thoroughly. The parent without thinking about the issues dealt by the school to analyze without any analysis asserts the replacement issue in a definitive tone. Hence, if this aspect is re thought by the parent, then he/she might make the assertion more than a bland statement.

Moreover, speaking about the calories and fat amounts in the cuisines given by the contemporary vendor, the parents asserts that the food is not tastier. But, the parent fails to mention that if the parents of other children too agree with this assertion. The complain holds some weight if there are many people who support it. If the complain is only related to single person, then there might not be any sense made by the whole letter even though if it holds some good content.

Even though the parent asserts of students bringing their own lunch and eating instead of cafeteria food. The matter of eating in cafeteria is regarding the lunch only. The breakfast, supper and as well as the dinner are to be taken care by the parents itself for their children. It may not be a true that each and every day the student takes in the actual correct or more calories in for their breakfast or dinner time, but still, the low fat and low calories may be made by the Kennington Academy in order to maintain the healthy nature of it's students. There might also be other vendors outside the school where students might eat too has to be re thought by the parent in order to come to proper conclusion.

In a nutshell, even though the parent's view is to reduce the health issues in the schools, whose source she/he points at the cafeteria's new vendors, might be re-thinkable because of various factors that are being mentioned earlier in the passage. Hence, if such substantiations are considered by the parent, then she/he might come to the second conclusion with respect to ameliorate the health problems faced by the children.