"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

In the above argument the business manager directly co-relates the viewers interest and advertising revenues to the late night news program of national news. He comes to a conclusion that in order to attract the viewers and not to loose further advertising revenue drops, television station should replace national news with same old weather and local news. For this he cites few evidences such as in the last year they have received most of the complaints form viewers are for coverage on whether and local news also in same period some advertisers have cancelled their contracts. However in the first glance these evidence looks promising, upon the close scrutiny contains many loopholes. Until these loopholes are identified and analyzed, they cannot come to a conclusion.

First of all, business manager cites that most of the complaints receiver over the past year are only for the weather and local news. These complaints might be not because of timing of the telecast, in fact might be because of the quality of the news they are telecasting. Also author did not provide the actual number of complaints and the content of the complaints. By analyzing this information we can come to a conclusion whether the complaint is because of timing of telecast or the quality of the news programs.

Further, author also cites they lost the local business advertising contracts with the television station. These loss in contracts might not only because of the national news program, there might be other reasons such as local business are running in loss,so they cannot afford to the advertisements. Also the television station might have bad reputation for other program. Due to this advertisers might have cancelled the contracts. Thus we cannot come to conclusion that losing contracts is because of the telecast of the national news instead of local and weather news.

Also author cites evidences for only past one year. He did not gave the revenue details in the past years. There might be scenarios such as station got bad reputation in the past years, whose consequences are reflecting this year. So in order to come to a conclusion the author should give information about the stations past revenue details and station's reputation in the past years.

Finally, before coming to conclusion that in order to attract the viewers and not to loose further advertising revenue drops, television station should replace national news with same old weather and local news, the author should provide proper data related to stations reputation and past revenues of the station. Also he need to analyze the complaints more clearly before coming to conclusion.