"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The given argument arrives the conclusion to expand the new coverage of weather and local news in their new programs. In order to bolster the argument they provide past feedbacks from viewers and analysis about the advertising contracts. With the given evidence the arguments seem cogent at first, this argument undermines because of several loopholes and flaws. These flaws are a result of vague assumptions and a lack of strong evidence. To evaluate the argument thoroughly, three factors can be considered.

first, The argument mentioned that the most complaints they received from the viewers were about the lack of coverage about the weather and local news. however, the argument does not mentioned this with the valid resoning. though there are more complaints about the weather and local news more people maybe like to here national news. it is possible that if the company increase the coverage of weather and local news more number of complaints may arrives from the viewer. To evaluate the feedbacks from the customer the author should consider both negative and positive feedbacks than considering ony the complaints.

Secondly, they state that several local businesses cancle their advertising contracts with them and from that evidence they conclude that this is because of the lack of coverage of local news. however, this evidence is not srong enough to come up with the conclussion because they did not provide the statistical data to prove the argument. it is possible that though local businesses cancel their advertising contracts with the increasing time to national news more national business companies willing to have advertising contracts with this company. And this may result in more profit than before. therefore, to evaluate the argument and to come up with the conclusion the author should provide statistical data about the local advertising contracts and the national advertising contracts.

Thirdly, the above given shreds of evidence are not enough to come up with the above conclusion. The viewers may have another reason other than the time covering local and weather news. it is possible that viewers may consider the quality of the news that they are providing. And specially more authors may be considered the accuracy of the news and the fastness of the news the company provided. because of that though they are going to expand the coverage of weather and local news authors may not attract to watch the news from this company. therefore, it is important to consider all the reasons to decrease the rate of viewers before doing something to attract more viewers.

All and all, after examine the above factors in several aspects we can conclude that the most of resoning from the author is based on unwarranted assumptions and provided evidences are too weak to strengthen the argument. if the author consider about the provided factors this argument may more stronger than before.