"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

There are a couple of data pointers needed to explain the situation about the television station. The statement provided by the business manager is having loopholes in them and require further investigation on certain topics.

Firstly, the manager should look at the authenticity of the news broadcasted on their station about weather and local news, as they have recieved most of the complaints regarding the same. The authenticity is the first thing that should be looked at. It can be done by cross checking news conveyed to the viewers and the actual news circulating in the market. Broadcasting incorrect or not covering the full news can be a major turn off for the viewers and can lead to drop in viewership. Furthermore, the television station will lose trust of their viewers as well as their advertising companies which are biding on their platform. Hence, cancelling their contracts with the television station - which is also mentioned in business manager's statement. Also, there could be a possibility that the Advertisers are not getting benefitted by the targetted audience which the television station covers, resulting in the cancellation of the Ad contracts. The Business manager has to pitch to the other relevant Advertising agencies to get the get more business on their platform. This can be done by analyzing the targetted audience at night, and provide supporting arguments to the new potential ad agency partners.

Lastly, there can be another possibility that the viewers want to know more about the upcoming weather conditions and local news before going to bed. By showing them National news at that point in time, will deviate them to other channels resulting in lower viewership on the channel. This can be measured by taking random surveys from the local people who watch news at night. And after closely analyzing the survey qestions, decide which of the possibility is correct to actually act upon accordingly.