Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

The author of this proposal tries to make people understand his views on the changed strategy adopted by them over a year which focused more on broadcasting of national news rather than broadcasting the local and weather news. As it seems to have backfired the strategy adopted by the station they wish to change the strategy and try and bring back devoted time to local news.

The reasoning of author seems to be quite provident but is wanting of consideration of certain aspects. The author seems to miss the point in only analyzing what is shown rather than the quality of content shown. While the subject of broadcast seems to be the pivotal reason for the failure on previous strategy the possibility of an unanalyzed source is equally likely.

The dynamics of a news station are mainly based on in its content, quality of content and ad placements. While one major aspect is scrutinized many other aspects still need some analysis.

Moreover, many complaints are received by the station regarding local news and weather news it doesn't statistically support the claim of the author in being the sole reason for decline in number of viewers. For example there may be some unaltered content shown which is not preferable for children.

The evidence provided in form of complaints while strengthens the argument but doesn't ensure that the result will be favorable for the station. Thus it seems to be the assumption of the author that the subject or the content shown is the reason behind decrease of the viewers.

Hence, only changing the strategy regrading the subject of content shown seems to be lacking some hindsight and synthesis of other side of the coin.