"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In order to evaluate the argument that it would be beneficial for a news station to return to their prior weather and local news coverage would require specific evidence. Ratings for their newscast, viewer attraction, and support of small businesses would all prove beneficial in evauating this argument.

The business manager of a a television station has made the claim that rating and viewship of their late-night coverage has dimminished since dropping coverage of weather and local news. This would signify that ratings have dropped for their coverage, but there is no numerical evidence presented by the business manager to support this claim. The addition of numerical evident, such as Neilson Ratings would prove beneficial in strenghtening the argument to revert back to local news and weather during the stations late-night time slot.

Since the television station has shifted away from weather and local news in their late-night time slot, the television business man has reported receiving multiple viewer complaints. The question is... How many complaints? Is the business man making the claim that every 9/10 views are unhappy, or has many complaints been 25/100 views? Once again there is no statiscical evidence supporting this claim. If 90% of views are unhappy, there is obviously a problem, but if it is only 25% that is a significant difference. Thus, statistical evidence would enhance this argument.

The final claim of local businesses pulling their late-night advertisements are once again lacking statistical evidence. How many businesses pulled their advertisements is not explicitly stated. Therefore, it weakens the business manager's argument. If there is numerical data supporting that a high precentage of businesses are no longer advertising in the late-night spot, the argument to revert to prior coverage of local news and weather would be better supported.

In order to better support the business managers specific argument, additional evidence is needed to strenghten a rather weak argument. The lack of statistical or numerical evidence for each of his claims does not benefit his argument. If his argument was backed with statisical evidence in favor of reverting to local and weather late-night coverage, the business manager's argument would be strengthened significantly.