Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The argument is deeply flawed because it tries to correlate ancient humans with modern humans. The core logic of the argument is dependent on the assumption that chronic illnesses of ancient humans and modern humans can be cured using a common diet and doesn't account for hundreds of thousands of years of evolutionary change in the overall lifestyle of humans.

Althought the ancient humans did possess profound knowledge for curing certain kinds of illnesses, but the environment in which they were living was completely different than which the modern humans live in. Ancient humans had to face a wide range of difficulties in their day to day life which made them biologically stronger than modern humans. Modern humans which are much weaker than ancient ones can't imagine living in those conditions even for a day. Their bodies have gotten used to a certain level of comfort that is attained by modern technologies which have made their life easier but also kept them in a certain comfort zone that makes it difficult for them to develop biological and digestive strength that was possessed by ancient humans. Considering this, it might not be accurate to say that the benefits of paleo diets that ancient humans enjoyed can be emulated by modern humans too.

The author has mentioned an anecdotal evidence that the people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. However, he hasn't mentioned the characteristics of the people who were studied to conclude this evidence as convincing. There is no age group or gender mentioned for which bone broth is beneficial. Usually, chronic illnesses are found in older people. The evidence might be based on a group of people with strong biological characteristics. So the given evidence might be rendered as futile.

In the past century, modern medical science has advanced leaps and bounds and has cured hundreds of chronic illnesses completely. There is no reason for modern humans to risk their health while trying to emulate ancient ways when there are a lot of proven medical ways to cure certain kinds of illnesses.

In conclusion, even if ancinet humans had profound knowledge of our physiology, its not logical to consider emulating their ways to cure chronic illnesses of modern humans. Evolution has changed humans as a whole and modern medical science has proven to be much more advanced and effective than ancient ways.