Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

The statement is considering that sound moral judgment and maintaining the respect of peers are two separate entities. I strongly believe that for a leader to maintain respect from his or her peers, he or she needs to make sure that his judgment is always moral, irrespective of the milieu in which he is acting.

One of the most influential leaders in human history, Mahatma Gandhi, who is still respected not only by the people of his country but by the entire world, never compromised with his moral judgment, which is one of the traits that made him so respectable among all the general masses. When times arose that challenged his morality, he took a strong stance. It was because of his ability to make sure that his judgments were never morally compromised that countries all around the world that were struggling for freedom considered him a role model. Had he compromised even once, he wouldn't have gotten the unquestionable respect he gets even today after decades of his death.

In fact, leaders who enjoy undoubted respect irrespective of their judgments have proven to cause some of the worst disasters in human history. Considering the example of one of the worst dictators of the 20th Century, Adolf Hitler, who enjoyed irrefutable respect from an entire country, eventually led to the deaths of millions and brought the development of the entire modern world to a halt because of the losses suffered due to the world war.

Some might argue that in today's modern world, global leaders have to cut some corners and have judgments that are not morally sound and will benefit their organization. So considering the trying times of the 21st century, leaders whose judgment is not morally sound might be a benefit to people working under him or her because as the organization grows, the peers might enjoy certain benefits which in turn lead them into respecting their leader more. But as we have witnessed the downfall of billion dollar companies in the past few decades because of questionable judgements, it can be inferred that for the long term, its definitely a disastrous way for a leader to run their organization.

Considering all the points mentioned above, it can be concluded that for a leader, having sound moral judgment as a characteristic is just as important as maintaining respect of his or her peers and having one without the other will lead to long term disastrous results for both, the leader and his peers.