"The population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer months. During the summer, then, the town council of Balmer Island should decrease the maximum number of moped rentals allowed at each of the island's six moped and bicycle rental companies from 5

when a branch of tree grows so that it causes harm. We cut, then, the branch not the tree.

same is here with Balmer island. Being surrounded by sea, Balmer naturally attracts more tourists in summer.

Author tries to validate his solution to problem providing merely superficial

facts and examples.

To begin with, the letter states that number of allowed rentals should be cut down to 30 from 50 in all rental companies. That is only a narrow way of fabricating a workaround for the problem. Issue might not be with the moped drivers but with the roads and locality. Their is a lack of facts on how well the roads are built and how well traffic signals function.

Roads and Traffic signals on islands are subject to harsh weather conditions. They might get damaged due to heavy rains, humidity etc. Decreasing the rentals allowed will only increase pedestrian density on the road and harm the earning from vehicle rental business

In addition, it is not mentioned that how the eligiblty of drivers is being tested. the rentals should ask customer to produce

valid driving license. they can provide instructions for safety on road if possible they can arrange for a small

drive test before lending vehicle. they should also check if the customer is not drunk at all.

furthermore, there is no mention of availability of separate walkway for pedestrians to stroll. If pedestrians are kept from jaywalking on the road mishaps can be prevented the reference to Torseau is merely superficial, the island may have all road safety infrastructure working in place and they might be lending away lot more rentals then they should be, so the solution works for them. There is no evidence that it will for Balmer as well.

conclusively a further study is required on how the accidents can be controlled in the area. Decreasing the income from vehicle rentals and limiting their contracts can not be the only feasible solution for Balmer island.