It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Children are prone to committing mistakes and to make them realize this, teachers and parents retort to punishments to help them understand that they have done a mistake. In my opinion, punishments can be employed as a corrective methodology as long as these are not harsh and physical in nature.

To embark upon, any atrocious ways of punishing a child should be avoided. Moreover, continuous use of such corporal behavior can make a child unyielding. For instance, a teacher hitting a student on his hand with a ruler for his/her wrong doings can make him/her rigid and neglect the importance of punishment thereby affecting the learning process.

On the contrary, the nature of the punishments should be soft and everlasting so that the minor understands the mistake and it's after affects thereby making a sincere effort of not repeating it. For example, making a child skip his favorite television show as part of punishment will ensure that the child understand's the mistake and it's consequences.

In continuity, parents can even employ strategies like taking a child's favorite video game for a time duration depending on the level or intensity of the mistake. Likewise, the more serious offence could mean not playing the game for a longer duration and vice-versa.

To recapitulate, punishments assigned to a child are important for his/her well being and attribute towards overall development. To coincide with this, utmost care and rationale should be taken in devising the form and intensity of punishment keeping child's mental and physical health in mind. Moreover, distinction between right and wrong should be the prime goal followed by the avoidance of perennial occurrences of the mistake.