Some people claim that there are more disadvantages of the car than its advantages. Do you agree or disagree? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car.

Owing a car is considered an important factor for many people today. In my country the majority of people have a car loan since it is the easiest method of transportation. While some people think that cars have more disadvantages than advantages, I agree that they are equal .

On the first hand, cars have a lot advantages. Starting with easy transportation which definitely will be better if you own a car. In fact ,especially in the less developed countries there are neither metro station nor buses for public transportation. Therefore the availability of the car is a must. In addition, you are free to choose the road you want to get to your address. For instance, if you are going at work you can choose the shortcut roads instead of following the main one as the metro does. Least and not last when you have a car you feel independent so you can organize your daily schedule easily.

Moving on the disadvantages, actually they include both the person itself and the environment. Firstly, cars have increase the sedentary life style of the population since when you park your car in the garage or near your home you don't have to walk to find the nearest metro station. Moreover you used your car everywhere even when you go for shopping in the grocery near your home. Secondly, cars are more costly than pubic transportation since fuel is expensive , also the cars needs routine maintenance. Let's move now to the negative impacts on the environment .In fact, pollution is increasing secondary to cars and the ozone layers is being affected. Lately in the developed countries government are encouraging people to use public transportation to lower the sources of pollution.

In conclusion, having a car has a lot of pros and cons, but in my opinion I would rather prefer to have a car despite its disadvantages .