Recent incursions by deep-sea fisherman into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, th

According to the author, due to the recent invasion of deep sea fishermen into habitat of Madagascar shrimp , there has been significant decrease in popolation of shrimp. Now the autor claims that since the breeding season is approaching their number will increase but will not increase enough in number so as to sustain the invasion of fishing boats and might be extinct. So author is trying to indicate towards the fact that these fishermen are hunting large number of Madagascar shrimp and their reproduction cycle is not sufficient enough to sustain the invasion or attack my thes fishermen and soon might perish. This statement seems plausible but seems to have a couple of flaws in the argument.

First thing is that we are not explicitely being told why the number of Madagascar shrimps are decreasing drastically. There can be number of reasons apart from the fact that fishermen are hunting. There can be a deep sea oil reifenery which is actually polluting the sea around. Thus it might be the case that a large number of Madagascar shrimps are dying due to pollution at sea and that is the major cause of decline in population. Another plausible reason could be that, climatic conditions are changing and maybe a predator that earlier could not roam around in the waters near shrimp are able to come and are devouring upon these colonies of shrimps. Thus, there is a significant decrease in number of shrimps. Also it is possible that, inhospitable climate has been gradually reducing population of these Madagascar shrimps which has only been evident now. These things need to be crucially analyzed before commenting that the fishermen are only reason for depletion in number of Madagascar shrimps.

Secondly, author claims that although it will be breeding season, number of Madagascar shrimps will not be increasing significantly before fishermen will be arriving again. This point seems vague and without any substantial statistical inference. We have no idea as to why author claims that the number of shrimps will not increase in due time period. Factors affecting that can be the factor which is actually causing reduction in the species population. There has also been arbitrary use of a statistical jargon that is trend. Now we are not being explicitely being told what trend is supposed to continue here. Is the trend of fishermen going to sea for hunting is going to continue or is the trend for Madagascar shrimp be unable to reproduce more during breeding time.

Author also claims that species will become endangered once the species number become very limited. A species becomes endangered only if there has been significant decrease in population all around the globe. It is plausible that population swum to better conidtions so populations might decrease at one place but has increases significantly at another thus not making them endangered.

The final conclusion that author got out is legit if we have sorted out all the gaps in authors arguments. Until those have been answered, author's claim seems to be a bit arbitrary and not convincing in some sense.