"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

While it may be true that birth order affects an individual’s level of stimulation, the author fails to provide a cogent argument for this claim. Their explanation relies on a number of key assumptions lacking the requisite evidence for support. Without such evidence, the author's conclusion that first-born monkeys and potentially first-born humans reach higher levels of stimulation is not the only compelling explanation of the facts presented.

Because the study had a sample size of just eighteen rhesus monkeys, extrapolations from these results are limited in scope, and it may simply be that the observed variations in cortisol levels reflect such existing variation in the rhesus monkey population. If there were only eighteen monkeys in total, then there must have been even smaller sized groups of firstborn and “later-born” monkeys. The common minimum recommended threshold for sample size to achieve statistically meaningful results is thirty, but there may well have been fewer than ten monkeys within the firstborn or “later-born” groups. As such, the fact that firstborn infant and first-time mother monkeys had higher average levels of cortisol could simply be attributed to the natural variation in cortisol levels among rhesus monkeys. Without any information about studies on humans or evidence for correspondence between human and monkey cortisol levels, the results of this study certainly cannot be used to draw any conclusions about humans either.

Setting aside the sample size concerns, it is still possible that any elevation of cortisol levels in firstborn monkeys may be due to the fact that these firstborn infants are older than their siblings. The author did not describe whether the study ensured each infant was only evaluated once reaching a fixed age, so cortisol levels could have been assessed in monkeys spanning a range of ages. If that was the case, then higher cortisol levels in firstborn monkeys may be an effect of older age rather than some biological difference due to birth order. For instance, perhaps young rhesus monkeys develop stronger responses to stimulation as they grow throughout their childhood. To determine whether this or the author’s proposed explanation is valid, a more controlled study would need to be performed where each monkey is evaluated at the same age, or better yet, in adulthood when all can be certain to have already met the same developmental milestones.

Finally, even if it is accepted that firstborn monkeys display higher cortisol levels, this may point to structural differences in endocrine systems instead of suggesting higher levels of stimulation. It is true that cortisol prepares the body for activity, but it is only one of many hormones responsible for response to stimulation. For example, adrenaline is another key ingredient in an individual’s preparation for action. Since the author noted that first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol in their system, it is possible that this chemical environment affects the operation of the endocrine system in their offspring, explaining the higher cortisol levels in firstborn infant monkeys. Because there is no evidence that the study investigated other components of a stimulation response, there is no reason to believe from the high cortisol levels alone that the firstborn infants overall had greater levels of stimulation.

It may well be that firstborn monkey offspring and perhaps even human offspring have higher levels of stimulation than their younger sibling counterparts. However, from the sparse facts presented, there is simply not enough evidence accumulated to posit this claim. In order to rule out the alternative explanations presented, a more rigorous study would need to be performed to clarify the interpretation of the results.