A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys

The author's argument asserts that recent study on rhesus monkeys unfolded the function of special hormone between humans and monkeys and also its correlation to first-time mothers and proposes some supports. Nonetheless, the ideas and reasons presented in the argument are not convincing and in what follows the most compelling controversies will be addressed.

First, the reading passage mentions that eighteen monkeys are considered as experimental samples for further results. However, the number of conclusions from those small community is not reliable. Indeed, if scholars want to connect the level of activities in animals to the humans, they should examine a lot of species. In this regard, a new experimental data, from Stanford University, shows that every community sample should at least contain 100 species. Hence, the low amount of samples is a major defect in the argument and should be at least acknowledged by the author, perhaps improved upon by increasing the number of samples, in order to improve the argument as a whole.

Second, the author's argument asserts that the function of the hormone cortisol in monkey is the same as human beings and it yields high activity. Nevertheless, by having a look at common and most reliable experiments it can be shows that mice results are more comparable to the humans that monkeys. Actually, whenever a researcher wants to validate his or her numerical or analytical results, he or she uses a mouse as experimental sample. Even though that at the first glance, it seems that monkeys are genetically the nearest animal to humans, but, mice are common. Therefore, monkeys' results does not meet the standard for experimental validation.

Third, it has been discussed that in comparison to the monkeys who have had offspring before, first-time mother, during pregnancy, have higher level of cortisol. However, the convulsion and complexity of body is more than that to be obtain such superficial results. Admittedly, billions of millions of cells, during pregnancy period, are doing activity and the result may belong to other thing. For instance, for a first-time pregnant some other features usually appear like facial spot and laziness which has root in stress and feeling that has never been experienced. Therefore, another flaw in the argument that should be answered is the connection between body structure and cortisol which rests on shallow inferences.

In conclusion, as the above-mentioned examples have illustrated, it is not convincing to allot the activities of monkeys to cortisol without following standard rules like enough communal samples. Plus, the author’s argument is laid on shallow foundation which poses many uncertainty and ambiguousness, needed to be unblemished.