"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

In this study, the author consents to the suggestion that, in order to succeed in a business, one must hire the people who sleep less than 6 hours per night. In my view, this argument does not hold true, and it’s rife with holes. Furthermore, we need to look into the evidence to the assumptions and to check if the assumptions proved unwarranted or not.

Citing a survey of the 300 Mention advertising executives. The author implies there is a causal relationship between the hours of sleep and the amount of the profit increase, and the former lead to the latter. The assumption would be invalidated if the profit made by the executive is counted by the number of the projects he or she may be managed. If one maintains the more advertisement program, he may be responsible for more revenue generation, and hence decreased the hours of sleep. Then the author may be confused with a reversed casual relationship. Thus, the assumption is unwarranted because the profit increasing may be attributed to the number of projects he holds. Otherwise, To strengthen his/her argument, the author approved the increase of sleep time may cause the revenue and profit to go down, and there are no other reasons contributed to the profit growth, then the assumption can state true. Furthermore, if it is built on the implication that the rapid growth of the business, projects expansion and profit improvement is attributed to the less sleep of time. We may find the Consider, the more overtime of the subordinates and the improvement in teamwork. Then, the sleep of time less than 6 hours for the executive is unlikely to be accounted for the profit growth, and then such an assumption is weakened, the conclusion of the recommendation is then open to doubt.

In addition, we would also notice that the author make a negative linkage between the time counted of sleep and the working time, and the increase of the working time has a positive effect on the revenue and company growth. By exam the hypothesis, unless we can prove that these higher level management people with sleep hours no more than 6 hours are fully immersed within the work, also, they were neither actually devoted too much to the social events nor family companion reason, and hence decreased the sleep hours, a concrete connection between the mutually effective may not be effectively made. Therefore, to strengthen his or her argument, the author would benefit from taking a further survey for the full daytime schedule to better evaluate the actual working time. We can validate the assumption made by the author, otherwise, it would also undermine the suggestion.

What is more, the assumption that the survey results can be applied more broadly may not hold true. The subjects of the survey are all from a single industry, namely, advertising. Maybe it is needful for people in this field to be a night owl. However, this rule may not apply to other industries, for example, insurance or manufacturing. In addition, the survey only asks the executives who may have to work extra hours to lead the companies. But for employees at lower level sleeping less may not be very helpful for achieving success.

In sum, we should further look at the unstated assumption to check the statement for the suggestion is reasonable or not.