A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night." Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this article proposed to hire only people who need less than 6 hours sleep per night, to boost growth of the business but to move forward on the proposal would need more information and thought. The argument seems right at first sight, however on deeper analysis it becomes clear that certain aspects are not taken into consideration which leads to unanswered questions and logical flaws.

Firstly, the survey had been considered only 300 male and female executives as sample space, where sample space is very less to conclude on something. Survey shows that there is an association between the sleep and growth rate of person, author has assumed from the survey that less number of sleep of employee causes to success to the firm. Success of firm is dependent on many factors not only on the sleep time of employees. Reason for the success can be, there is no competitor in that firm or firm has succeeded due to season, like in that season firm has good margin of profit or might be due to good management.

Moreover, author might have elicited that employees spend less time for sleeping and work more time, however there might be different reasons for the less time of employee, might be employee has personal reason of or diseases or employee is doing part time job in the night. Survey is conducted only on advertising firms so authors conclusion of hiring people with less sleep time will not work with other kinds of businesses than advertising firm.

In sum up, there are many other factors which needs to be considered for higher growth, author has concluded that hiring of people with less time will lead to higher growth which is based on flaws and evidenceless statements.