A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

This argument is the outcome of the investigation of Mentia residents that suffered headaches, the consequence of using salicylates, how salicylates are used to add as food preservatives and favour to food. There is a report that due to an increase in salicylates there is a decrease in the average number of headaches. In the end, the health experts predict that due to the effect of salicylates there will be a decline in the number of headaches in future.

It stated that salicylates are chemicals helpful for treating headaches. But apart from treating headache, it may have some other side effect in other parts of our body. The side effects are not mentioned in the argument. It also states that salicylates are used in food processing industries as preservatives for food processing companies. Are the preservatives good for health, are they save to use and for how long we can use this? this type of questions is not answered in the given argument that would strengthen the arguments.

The author mentions that there is a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a decline in the average number of headaches. But to prove his argument there are no statistics presented. There is no report to prove the author's argument is true. Another use of salicylates is that it adds flavour additives for foods. Is this artificial flavour good for health, what is the composition of the artificial flavour in the food? All these answers should be mentioned in order to make the prediction reasonable.

The food companies are planning to add salicylates in their food production. Due to which health experts assume that there will be decline headache cases in future. In which food product these salicylates are going to be used, are those product used bt Mentia residents. All these answers should be given in order to justify the assumptions.

Lastly, I would conclude that the effect of salicylates in the human body, its safe limit to intake should be stated. Regarding the food industries, it should provide more details about the product and provide statistical information to prove the argument more effective. To support the argument author should provide more information like reports regarding the composition of salicylates in food products. The amount and consumptions of salicylates should be provided.