A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Based on the results of a twenty-year study and the plan of food-processing companies to use salicylates as food additives, some health experts predicts that residents of Mentia will suffer ever fewer headache in the future. However, by trying to answer some necessary questions, the prediction and the argument on which it is based are not convincing.

The recent issued twenty-year study claimed the correlation between the effect that the commercial use of salicylates has on reducing headaches, and it is used to make the prediction of fewer headaches in the future. The question needs to be answered is whether the commercial use of salicylates is the reason for the steady decline in the number of headaches. There are many variables that could cause the number of headaches to decrease, such as using more aspirin, enough sleep, and regular exercise. So, consuming salicylates is not necessarily lead to the result. Therefore, the result of the twenty-year study is not solid for supporting the prediction.

In addition, though salicylates can be used as flavor additives, and many food-processing companies plan to use it, the question is whether it is actually going to happen. If not, the prediction based on this argument is losing ground. With the question, whether a medical element is allowed to use for a certain purpose is not only up to the companies but also restricted by policies from the government. Moreover, it is dangerous to assume that the more a person takes in salicylates, the better his headache is getting. Excessive doses may be toxic to a person. Hence, it may not actually happen for food-accompanies to use salicylates as flavor additives. Consequently, the prediction is credible.

In conclusion, after scrutinizing the argument on which the prediction is based on by answering two necessary questions, we can see the argument is not cogent. As a result, the prediction is not plausible.