A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia -will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author`s argument that based on the implication of the recent research to extend it for a prediction about the Mentia resident in the future is flawed. In the argument, not only did the author draw a conclusion based on some unproved analogies, but also did not provide some convincing evidence for controlling other components might influence of the rigidity of the conclusion. Hence, she did assume that the research proposed as the reference of conclusion is itself strong enough similar without elaborating on it.

To begin, the conclusion is hinged on the perception that the study is a good benchmark for reasoning the decline to be predicted for the Mentia residents. In doing so, the author fails to provide for the reader how strong was the report in a sense to be able to be a representative of the Mentia. The study done, might be somehow dissimilar in terms of the sample tested, the age distribution of the sample, medical background and the companies who the products were used by the control group of the study. The stated argument did not support whether the Metina residents are the same consumers as the study. Since the author does not provide adequate information regarding this statistical flaw and also analogy, it is impossible to determine and apply the same result of the research for the Mentia Residents.

The other point is that the author does not mention any information about the time difference the study was done and the current implication which is decided to be induced. The underlying assumption is that the companies are still using the Salicylates as same as when they were using at the time of the study and have not added some other element which may have negative correlation with headache diseases and also may have stronger effects. Hence, she ignored the possibilities of other factors affecting the prediction.

To conclude, the author fails to provide convincing evidence that everything regarding the Mentia is as equal as the study done to have such prediction. The line of reasoning could be strengthened if the author states more detail about the analogies of the two samples and also could be further strengthened if she were to inform more details about the other components may have effecting potent on the result. As it stands, however, the argument in its current form, is not a rigorous line of reason be having such prediction as the reasons indicated.