The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author`s argument the government should focus more on the education of the bicycle drivers rather than encouraging them to wear helmets or other safety tools is flawed. In the argument, not only did the author draw the conclusion based on some unwarranted assumptions, but also did not provide some convincing evidence for the fact that more concentration on education will have positive effects. Furthermore, the author leaves some ambiguities in the argument which weakens the argument for the demonstrated conclusion.

To begin with, the conclusion is hinged on the assumption that the using helmet has a major influence in reduction of the serious injuries. The author left this underlying assumption unwarranted, where there should be more evidences regarding the issue. There might be some other factors like the improvements in the bicycles industry causes this decrease in the serious injuries.

Moreover, the arguer also leaves the ambiguity about the other factors may cause the increase in the number of the accidents. She implicitly assumes that the safety feeling, as a result of wearing helmet, is the main reason for the surge in the number of accidents, whilst other factors such quality of the bicycles or road or bike path have no impact on this increase.

The other loophole of the argument is the assumption that the increase in the accident also means the increase in the serious injuries. This assumption could also not be cogent as the number of the accidents caused serious injuries might have reduced in the past ten years, whereas the number of accidents considerably escalated.

The other problem with the arguer`s conclusion could be that she assumes a positive correlation between the education and reduction in the number of serious injuries without providing convincing information or more elaboration about it. This unprovided evidence could weakens the line of reasoning without any statistical references on identical sample or other studies showing such positive relation.

To conclude, the argument could be strengthened if the author provides more information about the underlying causes and effect in the argument (whether they hold or not) and also the correlation between them. The argument, however, in its current form, is not a rigorous for the reasons indicated.