A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The given argument states that increase in salicylates in the food will reduce headaches in Mentia residents, it is based on twenty years study, which showed that companies added salicylates in food as preservatives and there is steady decline in average number of headaches. This argument is relying on numerous assumptions, which if false can raise questions on the conclusion on this argument.

As per argument, salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, thats why it can have therapeutic effects, which raises a question whether salicylates actually have therapeutic effects are tested or not. It can not be assumed that, if salicylates is from same family as asprin, it can cure headache. Effect of salicylates on headache need to tested thoroughly to prove that it can actually cure headache.

Another question is about change in Mentia residents food or exercise or other healthy habits. There is a possibility that twenty years back, people were suffering from headache, and then they changed their lifestyle and which reduced their headaches.

The conclusion of the argument is based on twenty years study, but what has changed in those twenty years in the town that needs to be taken in account also. There might be factory in the town which might be releasing chemicals in the air or water, which was causing headache. May be sometime in twenty years that factory closed in headaches in the residents reduced by itself, and in this case salicylates consumption may not have been played any role reducing headaches.

Salicylates are already being used in food as preservatives, which raises a question what will be the effect of increased amount of salicylates in food as flavor. Effect can be good or bad. Argument didn't provide any information about it. What if increasing salicylates in food, cause adverse effects, and people start having other health related issues, which can void the conclusion. Therefore, effects of increased amount of salicylates on Mentia residents health need to be studied.

Thus, in conclusion, questions related to changes in the town, residents habits to reduce headache, and effects of salicylates need to be answered before reaching on conclusion.