Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The given statement states that governments should focus on immediate problems of today rather than solving future ones. There is no doubt that current problems need solutions and have to be focused, yet anticipated future problems can't be ignored. Many times future problems arise due to solutions of current problems, which are either remissed while working on solutions or never thought about it while implementing fixes to the present problems. Therefore, the given statement is acceptable with some modification that governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today first, but should not completely neglect future problems. There are numerous examples in the history which shows neglecting near future problems and just focusing on current ones caused serious effects on humanity.

Most of us know about space rocket Challenger crash, while working on this rocket, some of the anticipated problems were neglected, due to which it crashed. According challenger crash analysis, scientists were in time crunch to launch rocket, they tested rocket in the current conditions, and passed rocket launch. As soon as rocket launched, high pressure condition met and it exploded, this condition was completely neglected while working on it. None of the team member thought that high pressure can cause problem in future. Thus, it is important to have a foresight and anticipate future problem and its solution.

Another example in the same contest is New Delhi air pollution after diwali festitval. The whole city concentrated in firing crackers on diwali, without thinking after effects. Since diwali was in the winter, crackers smoke went into air and became fog after cooling down. People of the city were having hard time in breathing, and government annonced to close all the business and schools for three days. A quick fix to this problem was made by stopping work in few factories and limiting vehicles on roads, but pollution which is in air might get reduced with this solution for few days, but can't be eradicated. From air, this pollution will go water and soil and will have miasmic effects. Thus, city need to work on to come up with anticipated problems also along with present ones.

In conclusion, it is true, we will have better future with better present only, but it is important to work on anticipated problems also. Therefore, it is not ok to agree with the given statement if it supports neglecting anticipated problems completely.