In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fish -
ing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through
the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department
devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years
there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water
and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean
up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The
city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to
riverside recreational facilities.
While it may be true that the Mason City government ought to devote more money to
riverside recreational facilities, this author’s argument does not make a cogent case
for increased resources based on river use. It is easy to understand why city residents
would want a cleaner river, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and
thus, not strong enough to lead to increased funding.
Citing surveys of city residents, the author reports city resident’s love of water
sports. It is not clear, however, the scope and validity of that survey. For example, the
survey could have asked residents if they prefer using the river for water sports or
would like to see a hydroelectric dam built, which may have swayed residents toward
river sports. The sample may not have been representative of city residents, asking
only those residents who live upon the river. The survey may have been 10 pages long,
with 2 questions dedicated to river sports. We just do not know. Unless the survey is
fully representative, valid, and reliable, it can not be used to effectively back the
author’s argument.
Additionally, the author implies that residents do not use the river for swimming,
boating, and fishing, despite their professed interest, because the water is polluted and
smelly. While a polluted, smelly river would likely cut down on river sports, a concrete
connection between the resident’s lack of river use and the river’s current state is not
effectively made. Though there have been complaints, we do not know if there have
been numerous complaints from a wide range of people, or perhaps from one or two
individuals who made numerous complaints. To strengthen his/her argument, the
author would benefit from implementing a normed survey asking a wide range of
residents why they do not currently use the river.
Building upon the implication that residents do not use the river due to the quality
of the river’s water and the smell, the author suggests that a river clean up will result
in increased river usage. If the river’s water quality and smell result from problems
which can be cleaned, this may be true. For example, if the decreased water quality
and aroma is caused by pollution by factories along the river, this conceivably could be
remedied. But if the quality and aroma results from the natural mineral deposits in the
water or surrounding rock, this may not be true. There are some bodies of water which
emit a strong smell of sulphur due to the geography of the area. This is not something
likely to be afffected by a clean-up. Consequently, a river clean up may have no impact
upon river usage. Regardless of whether the river’s quality is able to be improved or
not, the author does not effectively show a connection between water quality and river
usage.
A clean, beautiful, safe river often adds to a city’s property values, leads to increased
tourism and revenue from those who come to take advantage of the river, and a better
overall quality of life for residents. For these reasons, city government may decide to
invest in improving riverside recreational facilities. However, this author’s argument is
not likely significantly persuade the city goverment to allocate increased funding.