In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fish -

ing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through

the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department

devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years

there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water

and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean

up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The

city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to

riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of

the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions

and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argue could be summarized as, riverside recreational favorite activities of Mason city people is limited along Mason river sides due to the river's water bad smell and poor water quality. Thus, the government could devote sufficient amount of money for riverside recreational facilities. The arguement is based on some of author's assumptions.

For instance, the author assumed that Mason city park devoted budjet in order to maintain riverside recreational facilities was not enough. However, this assumption is not based on any evidence especially about the amount of maintiance works and the amount of the devoted money, this assumption if proved to be true, the author's argument would be ultimatly supported. Perhaps, the maintenance process required heavy equipements work and a futher operations studies, which need a huge amount of financial support.

Furthermore, the author assumed that Mason city people water sports, such as swimming, boating abd fishing, activities could increase by maintaining the river and cleaning it's poor quality water. Maybe these kind of sports are prefer to be performed on sea side by Mason city people. Thus, the author's argument could be weaken if this assumption prove is unwarranted.

Moreover, the author's assumed that the government has a sufficient financial strength to support secondary issues as a kind of sports popularity rather than a higher importance issues as medical care for serious diseases and enhacing economy by devoting more money to build industerial factories. Thus, the author's desire would be weaken. Whereas, the government do not have such financial availability to such kind of maintinance at the current year.

These previously illustrated assumptions is an example of a set of assiumptions that could be investigated in order to validate the argument properly as these assumptions could either bolster or weaken the arguement and the author's conclusion as well.