In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fish -
ing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through
the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department
devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years
there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water
and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean
up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The
city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to
riverside recreational facilities
The problem with the arguement is the assumption that if the Mason River were
cleaned up, that people would use it for water sports and recreation. This is not
necessarily true, as people may rank water sports among their favorite recreational
activities, but that does not mean that those same people have the financial ability,
time or equipment to pursue those interests.
However, even if the writer of the arguement is correct in assuming that the Mason
River will be used more by the city’s residents, the arguement does not say why the
recreational facilities need more money. If recreational facilities already exist along the
Mason River, why should the city allot more money to fund them? If the recreational
facilities already in existence will be used more in the coming years, then they will be
making more money for themselves, eliminating the need for the city government to
devote more money to them.
According to the arguement, the reason people are not using the Mason River for
water sports is because of the smell and the quality of water, not because the
recreational facilities are unacceptable.
If the city government alloted more money to the recreational facilities, then the
budget is being cut from some other important city project. Also, if the assumptions
proved unwarranted, and more people did not use the river for recreation, then much
money has been wasted, not only the money for the recreational facilities, but also the
money that was used to clean up the river to attract more people in the first place.