The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument could be summarized weather Tertia childs are reared by their own biological parents or by other adults. This argument could be evaluated by providing more evidence about Dr Karp study, in order to validate Dr Karp’s proof.

Dr Karp should provide more evidence about his observations. For instance, Dr Karp should show that his interview was about a sufficient percentage of childs that representing Tertia childs and also other villages childs. Perhaps this interview was about a limited number of Tertia cholds and the wide vast number of childs were from other surrounding villages than Tertia. Thus, Dr Karp proof would be invalid.

Moreover, Dr karp should provide more evidance about his interview questions. Maybe his interview questions were focusing on childs’ biological parents, which logically reflect on the childs’ talk during the interview. Consequently, Dr Karp’s proof could be properly evaluated by providing his interview questions.

Furthermore, Dr.Karp should show the the considered Tertian childs in his interview were purely Tertia childs’ that were not influenced by any other cultures of the surrounding villages. This evidance is a main key in order to validate the proof. Maybe the childs werenot raised up in Tertia, therefore the proof would be invalid.

In addition, Dr. Karp should show that interval of time when his interview is carried out and when Dr. Filed visit. Maybe a big difference in time period, which shows that the Tertia culture have been influenced by the other surrounding villages cultures as a result of increasing trading between cultures or as a result of population gross and the distance between villages became closer so that villages were combined forming one bigger vaillage.

These prviously illustrated evidances should be clearly provided in order to evaluted Dr. Karp’s proof proverly. Whereas these evideance would either bolster or weaken Dr. Karp’s study and it’s validation.