Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

As human society develops further, consequently there are increasing numbers of novel field studies are appearing and some fields are vanishing into eternity. One's choice of career is not a trivial process, especially when you're a freshly high school graduate student. The prompt suggests that students should pursue high salary careers rather than following their passion. In my not so humble opinion, I mostly disagree with the statement for the following reasons. Following own interest is a key in developing self-potential, thus it contributes to the self-satisfaction of the person. One more reason is that the job market tends to oscillate, today's high salary job could be in no demand tomorrow. However, in choosing their major field, one must be flexible and total dismissal of the job trend wouldn't be the wisest decision.

To begin with, passion is the key, especially when it comes to the field of study. For instance, there is been a recent trend in the USA among people in their middle 20s, those who are graduated and already enrolled in high-paying professions started to leave their jobs. A survey conducted among them showed that the most prominent reason for the resignation was a sense of dissatisfaction and lack of interest. One can infer from the example that the lucre isn't everything, however, complacency with one's life is in harmony with the personal interests. Another example, the absence of passion in the profession, subsequently leads people to do their work carelessly, offhanded and in some professions, slipshod attitude is the dangerous one. Doctors, nurses who are doing their work in a cavalier manner, imagine what would happen with the patients. Engineers who are building bridges, roads, and skyscrapers, their mistake will be catastrophic for the people. Not only passion stimulates people's attention in their occupation, but it also encourages them to develop further, to broaden their knowledge, the area of their expertise and especially zeal encourages them to be creative in what they're doing.

Furthermore, various fields of the avocation often oscillate in their demand for the workforce. The high-salary job will not be always as high and eminent, as it seems at first glance. The modern market economy dictates the trend of which professions will surge and which ones will fade away. Decision based only on the profitability of the vocation is somewhat imprudent. As an example, petroleum engineering tended to be the most high-paying field of occupation for the past 10 to 15 years, ones the oil price is dropped, the magnanimity of the employer in the same way decreased. Thus, from the example, one can infer that the fundamental law of demand and supply, determines the trend in the job market. So acting and deciding based on passion, is a reliable choice rather than evaluating a lucrative perspective of the field. Nevertheless, total dismissal of the job trends may leave prospective university graduates in precarious position. If there would be no demand in a chosen specialty, how can one accumulate experience and develop their own potential? The right answer is no, by the accounting market trend, in choosing their occupation field, one may strengthen his or her position in the volatile future of the job market.

In conclusion, the process of determining a career often complex and convoluted one. Nevertheless, a choice made on interest and passion is the most reliable one.