Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Modern trends in education field are rapidly evolving, trying to keep up with the precipitating demand with the skilled workers. Prompt suggests that the students should study at least one semester in a foreign university. In my not so humble opinion, I partially agree with the statement for two reasons.

To begin with, studying in a different environment especially the one which involves learning new language often broadens students overall knowledge and enhances their mental faculty. By learning the new language students usually change their thinking pattern, as disparate languages demand diverse logical construction of the sentence and the speech in itself is different. Hence, when it comes to problem solving case, students who had foreign exchange experience will show better results, as they can approach a problem not in a single perspective but in a different views simultaneously. For evidence, there is been a research which was conducted in Finland among the middle school students, who were divided into two groups based on their pre-experiment test, so that each group has the similar background knowledge. One group of a students were involved daily in spanish classes for about three month, while other group was studying in a conventional way. Post-experiment test showed that the students who had spanish class showed more consistent results rather than the students who didn’t take the spanish class. Thus, based on the given evidence one can assume that is the learning in a different country could be conducive to his or her cognitive skills.

Furthermore, another strong reason in support of the abroad studying is that it enhances the comprehension of the other cultures in a right perspective. To be clear, students who had an experience in other countries for a sufficient time, definitely developed a cultural sense or a picture of the country. Which is the conducive to the overall relationship with the other nation, as the comprehension of cultural ethos of the foreign nation, will surely stregth the trade and experience exhchange in our highly globalized world. As an example, imagine the marketing major student who spend some time in a China an then come back to his homecountry and when it comes to conquering foreign markets, particularly China’s market, his or her exprience would be priceless in such instance. That kind of specialist already have a knowledge, about the preference of the chinese people and the work ethics in this particular country which will probably make their efforts in conquering the China’s market successful. Given example illustrates the positive impact that can be achieved through such student exchange programme.

On the contrary, not all of the students are have a enough funding or will to comply with such demand. As the main reason of the high school graduates in going to university is to acquire major relevant experience and in some instances foreign exchange can distract them from pursuing such goal. For example, often it happens that the foreign universities have the specific requirements that every student should obey, and for the exchange students some strictures could be unbearable. Because most of the students are used to gain knowledge in a specific manner to which they were used to in their home-universities. That particular shift in learning milieu could pernicious to the academic perfromance of a student.

To sum up, implementing the compulsory foreign exchange programme overall would be conducive both to the students and the government, nevertheless the limitations of a policy should be considered deliberately.