Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is the crucial part of the human society and only through education humans have been able to reach such a technological advancement. Prompt suggests that teachers should first introduce basic ideas, assumptions and theoretical fundament of the subject, rather than presenting bare facts. In my not so humble opinion, I mostly agree with the statement for the following reasons.

First and foremost reason to teaching basic concepts, is that the deeper understanding of the subject involves comprehensive analysis of the pivotal ideas. It is especially imperative in the case of the STEM field. In such subjects as the physics, chemistry, math one have to understand the conception from which facts and practical results are being derived. For instance, imagine engineer who have studied thermodynamics in a superficial manner, throughout the course he or she engaged only with bare facts and some physics problems involving application of these facts. When it comes to solving puzzles, that nature presents it demands much more than a gamut of the known facts. Subsequently understanding the root cause of the problem, concepts, and theoretical background will be paramount knowledge that aids in resolving the puzzle. Hence, without such knowledge an engineer would be futile in solving the connundrums of the nature. The given example illustrates importance of the fundamental pillars(ideas, concepts, assumptions) that every subject is built upon. Only through learning of them one can really master the choosen craft.

Furthermore, another strong reason in support of the studying essential ideas is that it boosts the creativity of the students. Not only students are able to derive themselve the facts from the given concepts, but they also can engage further with the subject and derive new surprising practical applications and results. For instance, recently in the prominent science journal, an article was published by bachelor student who’ve been able to derive the new procurement process of the graphene, efficiency of his method exceeds most of the modern ones. In his interview, he acknowledge his professor, who helped him to understand the process of the catalysis in the simple chained carbon compounds and with a bit of fortune he’ve been able to create new graphene obtainnig process. In the example, students fortunate serendipity can be explained simply by his diligence in understanding of the fundamental processes of the catalysis and based on these concepts he originated new ideas.

On the contrary, before teaching such complex concepts related to the STEM subjects and other, one needs to assay the ability of their listening auditorium. In other words, it would be hard to understand the concept of the fluid mechanics, when you’re in a middle school or even a high school students strugle to engage with such complicated and notorious concepts. Thus, sometimes teaching facts is a justifiable action, as some concepts demand more mental faculty than students have at the given moment.

To sum up, instructors should always first illustrate basic assumptions and reasons of the subject, rather than teaching how to involve with bare facts. Nevertheless, in some particular instances engaging only with the outcomes of the concepts is a desirable option.