Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Modern world demands from the people diverse approaches in resolving growing numbers of the conundrums presented by nature. Prompt suggests that the students should engage in classes other than their major field. In my not so humble opinion I mostly agree with the statement that students should involve in diverse courses during the university study for the following reasons.

To begin with, attending the thematically diverse classes broadens students knowledge and provides an exceptional range of skills in the chosen field. For instance, in the case of the student who is enrolled in computer science, he or she might be adept at working with the numerical abstractions and skillful in stating the problem and subsequently solving it. However, in reality software engineers have quite a diverse range of tasks, not only they’re engineering the solution of the given assignment, but they also have to engage with customers and other branches of the company. Thus, in order to be successful in the IT field, one must consider enrolling in such classes as the Business etiquette, Public speaking, Cross-Cultural Communication. All these courses will give prospective software engineers the demanded range of soft skills.

Furthermore, students should be encouraged to take such classes as psychology, stress control and humane health. As those classes will give the fundamental knowledge in sustaining and consolidating well-being of oneself in the adulthood. For example, take the case of the South Korea recent statistics showed that the suicide rates among the college students in South Korea was the highest on a global scale. Since the introduction of compulsory subjects as modern psychology and courses in dealing with stress, the numbers in suicide among the students have dropped significantly. From the given example, one can infer the importance of the diversity in course subjects, as some of these classes could be conducive to the life-quality of the students.

On the contrary, such a policy of the variability in learning courses can distract students from their main field of study. Imagine the student who is enrolled in the biophysics major and the first two years of the university degree he or she will be unwillingly participating in such classes as the literature and modern history. These courses will obviously deter the student, and attenuate his or her learning ability, because such information ‘heavy’ classes as literature and history demand high mental capacity, not including the fact that the student might also have other exacting courses related to the major field. Thus, excessiveness with the enrollment in diverse courses can cause harm to students, by deterring their main objective in learning their field-related courses.

In conclusion, based on the above reasons, students should be persuaded to take the various courses, as their conduciveness is an irrefutable fact. However, in some instances excessive engagement with such courses can cause hindrance to the students.