The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nowadays, more and more nations are relying on the strategy of manifold advancement in various directions of the economy and other fields. The prompt suggests that the nation’s overall evaluation should be based on the measuring of the well-being of people, rather than evaluating the achievements of the prominent people of this nation. In my not so humble opinion, I partially agree with the statement for the following reasons.

To begin with, the societies are able to develop, only when critical sectors such as healthcare and infrastructure are thriving. These crucial spheres affect general life-quality of people, as neither science nor arts cannot be nurtured, without assurance that those paramount pillars of nation are strong enough. For instance, imagine the case in which the federal government is prioritizing science and education field, while their healthcare system is completely dilapidated. It’s obvious that the people are the main drivers of science and education and without adequate healthcare none of them are going to prioritize science or any other field. Health is essential for any human being. The given example illustrates the importance of ameliorating the welfare of the people, in order to achieve development in other sectors of human action.

Furthermore, indicators such as achievements of rulers, artists or prominent scientists can be misleading sometimes. As an example, the Russian empire of the 1920s during the October revolution, the whole nation was devastated by the rebel and the subsequent war between two opposing sides. Nevertheless, during this turmoil majority of prominent people fled from Russia and continued their actions within a different location. This tendency is clearly outlined in history, as the names of the Russian scientists, artists and aristocracy members are frequently mentioned in the various official publications for their merits, on a global scale, during this time. One can infer from the example of the 1920’s Russian empire, that measuring nations on a scale of actions of the educated and prospering citizens could be specious and controversial.

Nonetheless, dismissing the achievements of the upper class is somewhat imprudent. The surest indicators that the important fields as science, arts, politics, and sports are flourishing, are based on the measurement of the credits that were given to the very members of these fields. Prominent members and their achievements, sometimes are equally imperative in indicating the greatness of the nation. Because great nations are those who’ve been able to reach the prosperity in diverse spheres of human society.

Finally, the general life quality of citizens is a more reliable indicator in evaluating the nations overall advancement, rather than indicator based on the merits of the scientists, politicians and musicians of the nation. However, such an indicator could be useful in some cases.