A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

As the growing importance of the education becomes obvious in further success of the nation, many countries started to prioritize science and education fields in their funding. Prompt suggests that the authorities should introduce a compulsory curriculum for every student, until they graduate from high school. In my not so humble opinion, I partially disagree with the statement for the following reasons.

To begin with, every person is different and diverse approaches are needed for every student especially in the school education field. For instance, take the student, who had a natural propensity towards liberal arts, thus he or she had the potential to develop in that field. However, the national curriculum was heavy on STEM subjects, subsequently, all this potential that could be cultivated eventually will dissipate, under the oppression of unwanted subjects. Developing the potential is paramount, as the self-satisfaction with the one’s life depends on the nurturing of the inner passion. The curriculum must be flexible in order to answer for such diverse demands in school education, especially.

Furthermore, introducing such a curriculum will demand from government, more expenses rather than in the case of the individual study plan per school. For implementing a fixed study plan, often requires teaching staff and labs, which in many cases schools can’t provide. As an example, take the case of the rural school, in which authorities introduced compulsory biology and physics classes with laboratory work. Nevertheless, this school doesn’t have sufficient funding to construct such laboratories, and there will be a dozen more schools like that, and it will be cumbersome for the government budget to subsidize all of them. Subsequently, this money can be saved and reinvested in such essential sectors like the healthcare system, especially for the school children, which in return will be more conducive rather than wasting it on the national curriculum.

On the contrary, one cannot deny the efficiency and the convenience of such curriculum. Once the students will graduate from school, they will have to pass college entrance exams and in that case, if most of the students will have the same knowledge background, consequently it will be less complicated rather than in case of the individual study plan. Additionally by introducing a fixed curriculum, the government can reliably test the efficiency of the schools in providing education. Authorities can check the level of the understanding of subjects, by conducting nationwide exams and they can do it because of the fixed study plan. So implementing such a compulsory education plan nationally needs much of the deliberation, as the advantages and disadvantages of the policy must be underscored explicitly.

In conclusion, there are strong points against the introduction of the national curriculum, which I outlined in the paragraphs above. Nonetheless, in some cases such fixed study plan overall could be conducive and feasible on the national scale.