The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above passage, the author concludes that the high school teachers should reduce the amount of assigned homework based on a survey that showed more homework didn’t correlate with better academic achievements. However, the author should provide further specific pieces of evidence that will allow us to fully evaluate the argument and the writer’s conclusion.

First of all, evidence is needed whether the survey was conducted in a scientific manner. It could be possibly that the experiment was ill conducted, and that the survey analysis was biased towards the Marlee school thus it could explain the seemly higher academic performance of the students in that school. Perhaps, the scientist, who conducted the experiment, didn’t fully account for the total workload of the homework. It’s possible that the students in Marlee school even though they received lesser homework but the difficulty of it was on another scale compared to the Sanlee. Therefore, such a difference in the level of assigned homework could explain the academic achievements of the Marlee school students.

Second of all, specific evidence should be provided on whether both schools are roughly comparable in the framework of the conducted research. The discrepancy in the academic results could be simply attributed to the number of students. It could be the case in which Sarlee school is the public school with 500 students while Marlee is the private one and consists of only 200 students. The teacher could effectively teach only about 10 students at a time and if the number of students in the classroom will increase, the quality of education will surely deteriorate. As the teacher could not effectively educate 20 students the same as if there were only ten students. Thus, if the above scenario has merit, it will undermine the author's contention.

Finally, the author should outline whether the Marlee school students have had extra-lessons on STEM subjects. Such discrepancy in students performance could be ascribed to private tutoring or additional preparatory courses. It’s simply that the Marlee students had more learning hours compared to their peers in the Sanlee school. In that case, additional tutoring will definitely improve the performance of these students. Thereby, if the mentioned assumption would be proven valid, then the author's assertion will be severely weakened.

In conclusion, it’s possible that students' performance did not correlate with the frequency of homework, and that the school teacher should curtail the number of homework they assign. However, as it stands now, the argument is based on the flawed assumptions that should be substantiated with the specific pieces of evidence that I outlined above, so that the argument could be evaluated properly.