"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo from the director of a large group of hospitals, it’s presented that the hospitals should be provided with the new antibacterial hand soap in order to decrease the infection rate among patients. The suggestion is based on the preveious academic research and the subsequent test in Workby hospital that showed the efficiency of a new soap. However, before this recommendation can be implemented the following three assumption must be deliberately analyzed.

The first assumption is that the reduction of contagion cases in the Workby hospital was solely due to the new antibacterial soap. It is possible that the decreasing number of infections in a Workby hospital was caused by other factors. For instance,recently the novel protocol was introduced by hospital management which allowed doctors to interact with patients in a confined amount of time. Subsequently reducing chance of getting doctors sick and restricting further transfer of infection to other patients. Another conspicious influential factor could be implementation of the new personal protective equipment, consequently modern ppe proven to be more efficient than old ones and the new ppe could be a reason for the reducing numbers of infections in Workby hospital. If either of these scenarios will be proven, than the concluson is flawed.

The second assumption is that the effects of changing to the new antibacterial soap would be the same as in Workby hospital for all other hospitals from the group. The governing management prematurely assume that output from the suggestion would be the same in other hospital. Perhaps other hospitals have different profile of their treatment. For example, one hospitals’ primery patients are the ones with heart diseases another hospital is dedicated to treat people with cancer. So the change in type of antibacterial soap that the hospital uses would have no viable consequences. It would be only waste of money and subsequent reduction of profits.

The third assumption is that the laboratory study is flawless and unbiased. There is the possibility that the research studies could be falsified in order to favor producing company. As usually this kind of researches are funded by the private companies and their paramount goal in funding such research is to achieve plausible resuts. Thus, if it’s the case in which manufacturing enterprise are supplementing the researchers, then probably the laboratory results are apocryphal. Subsequently, the recommendation is flawed because UltraClean soap is the sham product.

In conclusion, the argument is considerably flawed due to its reliance on the unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to prove viability of their assumptions, through providing new evidence then it will be possible to execute the recommendation.