Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The prompt suggests that the government should withold funding for arts in times of high unemployment or famine. In my not so humble opinion, I mostly agree with the statement that such financial aid should be redirected towards more essential systems for the following two reasons.

To begin, one might argue that insufficient funding of creative industry may have detrimental impact on the society. But in the case where millions of people are jobless, the least thing they would worry about is the well being of museums and art galleries. How art is supposed to remedy the national economic crisis or humanitarian calamity like famine? In my opinion, it’s obvious that all free money should be invested in more important sectors of the economy like healthcare, agriculture, infrastructure, and private sector. These sectors are primary contributors to the resurgence of national economy and they also sustain overall well being of the society.

Further, during the adverse times of financial or humanitarian crisis, government should focus solely on the solution of the ongoing crisis. The arts and creative industry are somewhat peripheral in that hard times. The reasonable question arouses: Can the paintings, collages, sculptures feed people or they can employ them? It’s more probable than not that such imprudent espousal of arts, when the whole country is facing adversity, would pose a question among citizens on the competency of the ruling authority. Hence, it will disturb the society and can potentially lead to the escalation of situation. Imagine yourself that your country is undergoing a severe humanitarian crisis like enormous floods or recent typhoon that obliterated half of the counrty. And your government instead of full-supporting survivors and the refugees starts compensating the material loses of the art industry, would you question the actions of the governing body? I think the answer is clear.

On the contrary, the arts have some intrinsic value which makes them indispensable. As they are primary keepers of humane history, and all this painting are vestiges that we should preserve. Escpecially in times of great hardships, it’s that time when they’re most vulnerable. For example, during the World War II historians have estimated that the total of 5000 pieces of invaluable painting, sculptures and collages were lost. It happened simple because nobody cared about or had the time to preserve them. However, it’s only now became obvious the consequence of such negligence of the spiritual wealth of humanity.

In conlusion, based on the above arguments governments should primarily focus on the well-being of their citizens during the any crisis. Nevertheless, the total dismissal of the creative industry would have deleterious impact, even if it’s not imminent.