Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is an undeniable fact that contemporary life advancement, as we know it today, is solely due to the achievements in science. The prompt suggests that scientists should focus more on the practical sides of their studies rather than searching for fundamental knowledge. In my not so humble opinion, I partially disagree with the statement for the following two reasons.

To begin with, most of the practical sides of the scientific researchers are implemented in the long run and not in a short term benefit. For example, most of the surrounding technology goods and various gadgets would not have existed if the 18th and 17th-century scientist wouldn’t have done the fundamental researchers in electricity and electromagnetism fields. Take the case of Michael Faraday who discovered four basic differential equations describing the relationship between electric and magnetic fields and without his research, such commonplace things like cell phone, TV, and laptop wouldn’t have existed today. The given example illustrates the importance of fundamental research because of their essential long term benefit.

Furthermore, basic sciences are the driving force of any modern research inquiry. In other words, fuelling essential research fields like pure maths, physics, and biology would result in greater propulsion of other subsidiary fields. The practical researchers wouldn’t have discovered or invented anything without the base for it. In order to create something one must have instruments and material for that to happen. So basic sciences and the results of scientific researchers in those fields are the main resources and practical tools, at the same time, that helps in further deeper search for a novel useful inventions and discoveries. Thus, it’s important to nurture and invest in basic sciences and in the academic researches of these fields.

On the contrary, one might argue that bolstering the practical side of science will yield a more conducive effect and in some cases it’s true. For instance, if one would look into the modern pharmaceutical industry, it becomes clear that the money has some effect on the discovery rates of the new drugs and various remedies. Took the case of the recent Ebola virus outbreak in South Africa. It was discovered in the 1970s and yet the remedy for that virus has been invented only in 2014 during the epidemy, before that there was no legitimate or federally approved drug. Only after the outbreak and the significant amount of injected cash into the researches, the cure has been founded. It seems that when there is the ideal condition for the practical researches anything could be discovered. Therefore, in some specific instances targetted funding of sciences that are producing more applicable results could be justified.

In conclusion, more and more attention should be focused on fundamental areas of the research because of the arguments outlined above. However, the total dismissal of the practical side of the science would be too extreme to assume, and it can result in implausible results.