The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on unwarranted assumption that executives sleep only 6 hours in 24 hours, rendering the main conclusion, that to prosper business should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.

The argument fails to provide information regarding the sleep pattern of people in a day. As per argument, firms whose executives need maximum 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit. It is possible that, people who need only 6 hours of sleep in the night might need one or two short naps, which will reduce their work hours, and no all the businesses can afford to give nap breaks to people.

Even if people do need only 6 hours of sleep, then argument need to prove that people spend more time at work, or being more productive to help firm to grow more. If they are working more then it will benefit business, otherwise their sleep time doesn't help business.

The argument also leaves many other answered questions. Even if the firms in which executives need only 6 hours of sleep had higher profit margin and faster growth, does profit and growth only due to executives sleep less. There can be many other factors of growth. May be other team members who have big share in growth are sleeping more than 6 hours.

Finally, the argument concludes without warrant that hiring people who needs less than 6 hours of sleep will benefit each business. Even if advertising firms growth depends on executives who need less than 6 hours of sleep. It may not work for any other business, due to different kind of work and business model. May some business's executives more travel or any other physical work, and they might need more sleep.

Thus, the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that only hiring people who need less than 6 hours of sleep will make business profitable and faster growth.