"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

According to this argument, In Balmer Island mopeds serve as popular form of transportation. Accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians has increased. The town council should limit the number of mopeds rented from 50 to 25 per day, which will attain 50 percent reduction in accidents. This argument has multiple loop holes. It is not mentioned in the argument, how reduction in accidents is related to limit the number of rented mopeds. Is mopeds are also main form of transportation in Seaville for comparison. Is this limits only for summer or for whole year?

Argument assumed that, accidents between mopeds and pedestrians are only due to mopeds. With increased population, pedestrians also increased in the city. There could be a possibility that pedestrians are failing to follow traffic rules, which is causing increase in mopeds. With the time, there is no change in number of mopeds rented per day, only population has increased. There is no evidence or data provided in the argument, that accidents are happening only by rented mopeds, there could be a possibility that number of accidents are more by number of owned mopeds, not rented one or City traffic rules are not strict enough for mopeds and pedestrians. There may not be sufficient number of walkways in the city and pedestrians have to use same road which mopeds use. There is no information provided about who is mostly at fault in accidents, mopeds or pedestrians. May be city need to work on traffic rules.

Second assumption is that by limiting the moped rentals will decrease accidents by 50 percent same as Seaville city which achieved same results last year by enforcing same rules. There is no information provided that about whether mopeds is the main mean of transportation or not, is serville’s population increased also or not? What are the other efforts Seaville city made to reduce percentage of accidents, are the reduction in accidents particularly in moped and pedestrians. These question needs to be answered before enforcing same limits to the Balmer Island.

There is missing information about duration of limit of moped rentals. The argument described that the population of the city increases during summer. If population is increasing only in summer, does it mean accidents increase only in summer? There is no information about the data which is used for measure the increase in accidents is summer accidents data or whole year data. This information is required analyze before limiting number of rentals. As population only increasing in summer, there might be possibility that limitation on rentals needed only in summer.

Above assumptions and missing information can weaken the argument. City need to work more to collect data about accidents and pedestrians and information about Seaville city, what are the similarities between two cities which are making them comparable. Author may need to collect more data and do analysis before reaching to the conclusion about limiting the number of mopeds rented.