To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To understand society it is good to study major cities, but it is important to study rural areas also. Major cities of a country show development, and it is center of big businesses, shopping centers, and present better ways of living. Big cities differ in many ways from rural areas, such as work culture, food, dressing sense, religious activities.

Mostly in major cities people work in offices which includes more mental work and less physical work, which may lead to a stressful life. One aspect is, in big cities both husband wife go to work and their kids go to day care schools, which might effect relation between kids and their parents as they are not able to spend much time with them. People go to parties, pubs or clubs for enjoyment. On the other hand, rural areas people are living life completely different. Mostly work in agriculture field, they have to do more physical work. Women of the house stay at home to take care kids and house. Children are more attached to their parents. People have different kind of means for enjoyment, like religious activities, festival celebration.

In advanced cities dressing style of people differs from other parts of country. For example, in Bangalore, known as IT city of India, people try to dress up more in western style, mens wear shirts, pends or suits and girls wear jeans, tops, skirts. However in rural area, women dress up more traditionally, they wears long skirts, scarfs and wear jewelry.

Now days, with the advancement of technology, whole world is becoming a big country, the effect is seen in big cities first, which can be seen in food habits of people. People who live in cities have more countries cuisines available and fast food is becoming more popular now days. In rural areas, people doesn't have much accessibility to different cuisines or fast food, they cook their traditional dishes.

Big cities of a country present mix of culture from all the parts of country, which can give a impression that it is good enough to study major cities, to understand society. But to true understanding to society one must understand big cities and rural area, as major cities show how much country is developed and rural areas who represent rich culture of country.