College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The purpose of completing college degree is to settle in a particular field. Choosing a field of study is a major decision of students' life, because few years of his future life will depend on this one decision. There are many factors which contribute in making this decision such as student's interest, scope of field, expense of college, and hard work needed to complete degree in a particular field. Therefore, field choice should consider all the above mentioned factors, not just availability of jobs.

Now days, job market is changing every few months, and college degree takes atleast 4 years to complete. For example, if a student chose a field, just because he saw numerous jobs in the market at the time of joining his college and choose the field and when he graduated from college, new technology came to market, which doesn't use expertise which he learnt in the degree. As a fresh graduate, that student might get discouraged.

Taking decision of selecting field just based on job market might make student to compromise their interest. As now days, due to boom in technology, engineering field one of the first choice of student, and parents prefer engineering for their kids also, but any student is interested in art and due to better job market for engineers', he choose engineering, it might end up loosing interest in engineering after sometime, or he might become a good engineer

Boom on job market for particular sector, may fascinate students to prefer field which have better job market, but if every student choose field based on same reason then after few years, there will large number of fresh graduates in the field, but job market might not have enough capacity to absorb everybody.

On the other side, job availability is one of the major factor while choosing study field, what if students doesn't consider this factor at all, then they might end up unemployed. For example, a student may say he don't care about job market while joining college, but after few years, when it is a time to find job, to practice skills which he learnt in college, then there is no jobs in the market, in this case he might end up regerting.

Thus, in conclusion, choice of field depends on several factors, and considering job market is one of the factor. Therefore, students should consider carefully other factors plus job market while making decision on college field.